Who We Are

Te’mexw Treaty Association is a non-profit society formed of five Coast Salish Nations – Beecher Bay (SC’IA⁄NEW), Malahat, Snaw-Naw-As, Songhees and T’Sou-ke. The Te’mexw five member Nations joined to support one another and to work together under one organization to negotiate five Nation-specific modern treaties with the federal and provincial governments in the British Columbia Treaty Process.

Vision Statement

Unified in our pursuit of self-governance – unified culturally, socially, and economically for future generations.

Mission Statement

Negotiate just, modern-day treaties, ensuring our Citizens are knowledgeable and prepared to make informed decisions.


In support of our vision and mission, the TTA will embody the following values:

We will demonstrate respect for ourselves and others in all that we do.

We will actively participate in our shared work – understanding that commitment is demonstrated by compassionate and enthusiastic actions.

We will seek knowledge from our past, bring passion to our present and provide solid teachings for our future.

We will leave a light footprint, only taking what we need and ensuring we leave something positive behind.

We will promote trust and pride and ensure that we exemplify respect, recognition and reconciliation.

Each of the Te'mewx Treaty Association member Nations is negotiating its own treaty and constitution. If a comprehensive treaty and land claims agreement is reached, each Nation will have ownership of land and the recognition as a self-governing Nation.
beecher bay

Beecher Bay (SC’IA⁄NEW) First Nation is located in East Sooke, 30 km southwest of Victoria, British Columbia. They can trace their ancestry to people who spoke several different languages. Their main traditional language is Hul’q’umi’num’.


The Malahat Nation is located south of Mill Bay, along the western shores of Saanich Inlet, approximately 40 km northwest of Victoria, British Columbia. The traditional languages spoken were SENĆOŦEN, Hul’q’umi’num’ and Samish.  Nation members have family ties with the WSÁNEĆ peoples of the Saanich Peninsula and with members of the modern Hul’q’umi’num Treaty Group.


The Snaw-Naw-As Nation is located on the east coast of Vancouver Island, adjacent to the city of Lantzville, situated between Parksville and Nanaimo, in Nanoose Bay.


Songhees Nation is located adjacent to the Township of Esquimalt and the Town of View Royal. Songhees Nation is part of the Lekwungen (Lək̓ʷəŋən) People, which also includes Esquimalt Nation.


The T’Sou-ke Nation is located 36 km west of Victoria, near the town of Sooke. In the SENĆOŦEN language, the word “T’Sou-ke” is the name of the stickleback fish that live in the estuary of the river.


There have been several important events and milestones that have marked our journey. As we look forward to having a modern treaty for each Nation that includes rights and ownership of land, and the right to return to important cultural practices, we recognize the strong effort, resilience and hard work that have already gone into this process.

Te'mexw treaty association staff

Learn about the douglas treaties